Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a traditional form of yoga which was taught by Pattabhi Jois in Mysore, India.

We approach the Ashtanga Yoga practice in a unique way, paying close attention to alignment in order to do the postures safely with a profound inner awareness. This adds a therapeutic aspect to the yoga where one can learn to heal themselves; helping to correct previous injuries, mend emotional wounds or simply maintain a healthy body and mind.

This method of dynamic yoga involves synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures, a process producing intense internal heat and a purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs. The result is improved circulation, a light and strong body and a calm, focused mind.

The Ashtanga Yoga system places equal emphasis on strength, flexibility and stamina. Through regular practice of the physical postures of Ashtanga Yoga, personal insights begin to manifest. We become aware of what we put in our bodies and how we interact with the world around us; growing our ability to concentrate fully and live a healthier, more contented life. If one dedicates oneself to this practice it will change that person’s life, and possibly those close to them!

In one of the most influential classical texts on yoga, The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, you will find the Sanskrit word, Ashtanga, which literally means “eight limbs”.  Here Ashtanga Yoga is defined by these 8 limbs as a progressive path to self-realization:

  •  Yama: self-restraints
    – Ahimsa – non-harming
    – Satya – truthfulness
    – Asteya – non-stealing
    – Brahmacarya – continence
    – Aparigraha – greedlessness or taking only what is necessary
  • Niyama: observances
    – Sauca – cleanliness or purity
    – Santosha – contentment
    – Tapas – austerity or self-discipline
    – Svadhyaya – self-study
    – Isvara pranidhana – surrender or devotion
  • Asana: physical practice of yoga postures
  • Pranayama: breath control exercises
  • Pratyahara: control of the senses
  • Dharana: concentration
  • Dhyana: meditation
  • Samadhi: absorption